Branch Scholarship

The Marion MacEwan Second Chance Scholarship

The Marion MacEwan Second Chance Scholarship is funded annually by the Cape May County Branch of the AAUW. Three (3) scholarships of $1,500 are given annually.

Marion MacEwan was one of the principal founders of the Cape May Branch of the AAUW.  She participated in branch activities and headed many programs and committees over 10 years, starting in 1967.  She supported higher education in the county and also construction of the county library in Cape May Court House.

The Second Chance Scholarship was established in 1985.  The AAUW of Cape May County awards scholarships to women whose post high school college education was interrupted, for whatever reason, and who are currently continuing their education.  The scholarship is based upon academic standing and demonstrated financial need.

Eligibility Requirements:

  • Female resident of Cape May County and a US citizen
  • College education interrupted for at least one semester
  • Must have successfully attended an accredited college for 1 year and completed at least 15 credits with a GPA of 2.0 or better
  • Six or more credit part-time students are eligible
  • Demonstrated financial need

Cape May County AAUW requests that the scholarship recipients attend at least one meeting or social event held by the branch.

Scholarships are administered by the Atlantic Cape Community College Foundation.

AAUW of Cape May County does not handle the application process.  This is done by Atlantic Cape Community College.